PDA

View Full Version : Do you think this ad is legit?



Brazenhead
02-14-2010, 03:16 PM
I ask because it is listed as being located in both Edmonton and in Calgary.

http://www.autotrader.ca/used_cars_Light+Truck+&+SUVs_details/EDMONTON_Alberta_1999_TOYOTA_TACOMA+_3743644.html? srcid=1850405&source=24&pgno=1&srt=10&CompanyID=&r=britishcolumbia&ad-attributes=photos,,

http://www.autotrader.ca/used_cars_Light+Truck+&+SUVs_details/CALGARY_Alberta_1999_TOYOTA_TACOMA+_3743613.html?s rcid=1850347&source=24&pgno=1&srt=10&CompanyID=&r=britishcolumbia&ad-attributes=photos,,

City_Rider
02-14-2010, 03:30 PM
could be... I am guessing a guy is traveling from one to the other and can part with it in either place.

Looks like a good deal though - I'd love a single cab 4cyl for heading to the mountains.

Anyone care to buy a slightly used Civic SiR?

ndub
02-14-2010, 05:11 PM
I bet it is a scam. Phone number not on both ads. No plate and no other plates visible on adjacent cars. Some sort of inspection sticker on the windshield. Seems pretty cheap. Who would pay for two different ads?

oriontaco
02-14-2010, 06:34 PM
There is a number on one of the ads but when you call it they say it is unassigned.

I'd buy that truck in a heart beat for a city run around truck till it got SAS'd!!
Try shooting them an email??

City_Rider
02-14-2010, 07:16 PM
There is a number on one of the ads but when you call it they say it is unassigned.

I'd buy that truck in a heart beat for a city run around truck till it got SAS'd!!
Try shooting them an email??

email sent...

(with no reply as of yet)

Brazenhead
02-14-2010, 07:43 PM
I also sent an email at around 12:30 this afternoon but have not had a response to it as of yet either.

Sure is a nice little truck though, I bet that thing gets 25-30mpg if not better.

Chaos
02-14-2010, 10:10 PM
Also this is an american truck, you can tell by the placement of Tacoma on the tailgate, I have the same placement on my american 04 Taco, the Canadian Versions are closer to the bumper.

If it is legit and you do get a hold of them, make sure you run a carfax report, I know the drill I spent a year looking for the truck I have now, I came across a lot of tacos that were a "great deal" only to find out that it was a written off truck down in the southern US somewhere. Also came across trucks that came from New Orleans...can someone say Hurricane Katrina Victims??

Just make sure you do your homework on these "great deal" tacomas, because it's super nice and I'd Hella buy it but be cautious :)

Brazenhead
02-15-2010, 07:08 PM
well got a reply (edit looks like the ad was pulled) when a deal is to good to be true, well you know the rest.

here it is:

Hello,

The 1999 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 is still available for sale for 3,800$ , looks and runs great, it has been maintained every 3000 km. The Tacoma has never been involved in any accidents, it has no flaws or mechanical issues, the paint shines like new. I am a landscape architect, I am working on a new project and I need to sell the truck to finance it because it costs more than I initially estimated, I am well aware that the price is low but this is my only option left. I am the first owner.
I can handle the shipping to your location free of charge, please tell me where you are located.
CLICK HERE http://toyota1999tacoma.web.officelive.com/default.aspx to view the pics
The fuel consumption is 9.8/100km.
The vehicle has all the papers and documents, the vehicle information package, and it's certified and e-tested.

Hope to hear from you soon!
Have a great day!

freeze
02-23-2010, 04:35 PM
ahhh bummer. That would make a great 4WD machine!